MCA logo

Elementary School Calendar

All three campuses of The Montessori Children’s Academy follow the same calendar.
September 2017 to June 2018
Date Day Event
September 6 Wednesday ½ Day for Elementary (8:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.)
September 7 Thursday Start of Regular elementary School Day (8:45 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.)
September 11 Tuesday Extended Hours Program Begins
September 21 Thursday Rosh Hashanah – SCHOOL CLOSED
September 22 Friday International Day of Peace*
September 25 Monday LEAF Enrichment Sign-ups Begin*
September 28 Thursday Back to School Night – Refer to Schedule
October 9 Monday Columbus Day – SCHOOL CLOSED – Staff In-service
October 10 Tuesday LEAF Enrichment Classes Begin
October 21 Saturday Harvest Family Fun Day*
October TBD Parent Eduction Night*
November 6 Monday Parent/Teacher Conferences (as needed)
November 7 Tuesday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
November 15 Wednesday Montessori in the Home Parent Wkshp (7:00PM) Morristown**
November 22 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Recess Begins – ½ Day for Elementary;
No Extended Hours
November
23 & 24
Thursday & Friday Thanksgiving Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
December 13 Wednesday Practical Life Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Chatham**
December 22 Friday Holiday Recess Begins – ½ Day for Elementary; No Extended Hours
December 25-
January 1
Monday Holiday Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
2018
January 2 Tuesday School Reopens
January 10 Wednesday Sensorial Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Short Hills**
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – SCHOOL CLOSED
Staff In-service
February TBD 6 Week Parenting Book Club Begins (9:00AM) – Each Campus*
February
19 – 23
Monday-Friday Presidents' Day/Winter Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
February 26 Monday School Reopens
February
26 – March 2
Monday-Friday Montessori Education Week*
March 2 Friday NJ MAC Conference – School Closed
March 3 Saturday Montessori Education Week Celebration*
March 14 Wednesday Math Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
March 15 Thursday Parent/Teacher Conferences (as needed)
March 16 Friday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
March 30 Friday Good Friday – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 9-13 Monday–Friday Spring Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 16 Monday School Reopens
April 18
Wednesday Language Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Chatham**
April TBD
TBD Parent Education Night
May 28 Monday Memorial Day Observed – SCHOOL CLOSED
June 12 Tuesday Last Day of Extended Hours
June 14 Thursday Last Full Day of Elementary
June 15 Friday ½ Day for Elementary (8:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.)

* More information to come.

** All families are welcome to attend the workshop. Please note that this workshop is targeted for families of students in our Preschool – Kindergarten Programs.