MCA logo

Pre-K School Calendar

All three campuses of The Montessori Children’s Academy follow the same calendar.
September 2017 to June 2018
Date Day Event
September 6 Wednesday “Meet the Teachers Day”—ALL students;
Refer to Schedule
September 7 Thursday Start of Student Phase-In – Refer to Schedule;
No Extended Hours
September 8 Friday Student Phase-In – Refer to Schedule;
No Extended Hours
September 11 Monday Extended Hours Program Begins
September 21 Thursday Rosh Hashanah – SCHOOL CLOSED
September 22 Friday International Day of Peace Celebration*
September 25 Monday LEAF Enrichment Sign-ups Begin*
September 26 Tuesday Back to School Night – Refer to Schedule
September 28 Thursday Back to School Night – Refer to Schedule
October 9 Monday Columbus Day – SCHOOL CLOSED – Staff In-service
October 10 Tuesday LEAF Enrichment Classes Begin
October 21 Saturday Harvest Family Fun Day*
October TBD Parent Eduction Night*
November 6 Monday Parent/Teacher Conferences - ½-day for Kindergarten;
No PM Session
November 7 Tuesday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
November 15 Wednesday Montessori in the Home Parent Workshop (7:00PM) Morristown
November 22 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Recess Begins – AM Session Only;
No Extended Hours
November
23 & 24
Thursday & Friday
Thanksgiving Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
December 13 Wednesday Practical Life Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Chatham
December 22 Friday Holiday Recess Begins – AM Session Only; No Extended Hours
December 25-
January 1
Monday Holiday Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
2018
January 2 Tuesday School Reopens
January 10 Wednesday Sensorial Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Short Hills
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – SCHOOL CLOSED
Staff In-service
February TBD 6 Week Parenting Book Club Begins (9:00AM) – Each Campus*
February
19 – 23
Monday-Friday President's Day/Winter Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
February 26 Monday School Reopens
February
26 – March 2
Monday-Friday Montessori Education Week*
March 2 Friday NJ MAC Conference – School Closed
March 3 Saturday Montessori Education Week Celebration*
March 14 Wednesday Math Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
March 15 Thursday Parent/Teacher Conferences - ½-day for Kindergarten;
No PM Session
March 16
Friday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
March 30
Friday Good Friday – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 9-13 Monday–Friday Spring Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 16 Monday School Reopens
April 18
Wednesday Math Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Chatham
April TBD Parent Education Night*
May 28 Monday Memorial Day Observed – SCHOOL CLOSED
June 12 Tuesday Last Day of Extended Hours
June 13 Wednesday Final Day of School for all Preschool Classes –
No Extended Hours; No PM Session;
½-day for Kindergarten
June 14 Thursday Chatham and Morristown K Graduations
½-day Kindergarten for Short Hills
June 15 Friday Short Hills K Graduation
½-day Kindergarten for Chatham and Morristown

* More information to come.