MCA logo

Pre-K School Calendar

All three campuses of The Montessori Children’s Academy follow the same calendar.
September 2016 to June 2017
Date Day Event
September 7 Wednesday “Meet the Teachers Day”—ALL students;
Refer to Schedule
September 8 Thursday Start of Student Phase-In – Refer to Schedule;
No Extended Hours
September 9 Friday Student Phase-In – Refer to Schedule;
No Extended Hours
September 12 Tuesday Extended Hours Program Begins
September 21 Monday International Day of Peace*
September 27 Tuesday Back to School Night – Refer to Schedule
September 29 Thursday Back to School Night – Refer to Schedule
October 3 Monday Rosh Hashanah – SCHOOL CLOSED
October 12 Wednesday Yom Kippur – SCHOOL CLOSED
October TBD Harvest Family Fun Day*
October TBD Parent Eduction Night
November 7 Monday Parent/Teacher Conferences - ½-day Kindergarten;
No PM Session
November 8 Tuesday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
November 16 Wednesday Montessori in the Home Parent Wkshp (7:00PM) Morristown
November 23 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Recess Begins – AM Session Only;
No Extended Hours
November
24 & 25
Thursday & Friday
Thanksgiving Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
December 14 Wednesday Practical Life Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
December 23 Friday Holiday Recess Begins – SCHOOL CLOSED
December 26-
January 2
Monday Holiday Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
2017
January 3 Tuesday School Reopens
January 11 Wednesday Sensorial Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – SCHOOL CLOSED
Staff In-service
February TBD 6 Week Parenting Book Club Begins (9:00AM) – Each Campus*
February
20 – 24
Monday-Friday President's Day/Winter Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
February 27 Monday School Reopens
February
27 – March 3
Monday-Friday Montessori Education Week*
March TBD Montessori Education Week Celebration*
March 8 Wednesday (7pm–8pm) Language Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
March 23 Thursday Parent/Teacher Conferences - ½-day Kindergarten;
No PM Session
March 24
Friday Parent/Teacher Conferences – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 10-14 Monday–Friday Spring Recess – SCHOOL CLOSED
April 17 Monday School Reopens
April 19
Wednesday Math Parent Workshop (7:00PM) - Morristown
April TBD Parent Education Night
May 29 Monday Memorial Day Observed – SCHOOL CLOSED
June 13 Tuesday Last Day of Extended Hours
June 14 Wednesday Final Day of School for all Preschool Classes –
No Extended Hours; No PM Session;
½-day Kindergarten
June 15 Thursday Short Hills K Graduation
½-day Kindergarten for Morristown and Chatham
June 16 Friday Morristown and Chatham K Graduations
½-day Kindergarten for Short Hills

* More information to come.